50 Shades Of Fashion

So here’s the latest style buzz.

Lady Gaga released a new image for her perfume campaign which I’m really enjoying. I love the whole Zorro feel… That said, if you’re an American Horror Story fan, this is actually a little scary.

 

A label by the name of Marc New York Andrew Marc (which I’ve never heard of and has nothing to do with Marc Jacobs) have opted for a 50 Shades Of Grey theme for their fall campaign. You have to hand it to them, it’s a smart way to get press exposure. The whole thing got me thinking about which designers should reference which films in their campaigns. Here are some ideas:

Prada: The Hobbit.

Alexander McQueen: The Dark Knight Rises.

Meadham Kirchhoff: Any Afrikaans movie.

Dior: Black Swan

Dolce & Gabbana: My Big Fat Greek Wedding

 

Stop the press! Victoria Beckham is guest editing the September issue of American Glamour (note: this sounds great when said out loud.) I don’t usually (read: ever) buy Glamour, but queen V may prove impossible to resist…

 

This next one (my favourite) she tweeted exclusively to her fans yesterday…

 
 

But the Beckhams didn’t stop there! David makes his return to mens magazines with the September cover of UK Esquire. If I had a Prada shoe for every Beckham cover this year…

 

 
And finally: US ELLE revealed their decision to put Katy Perry on their September cover yesterday. They’re up against the biggest Vogue ever (with a yet-to-be-revealed Gaga cover) and the Viccy Glamour… But this is one of the least boring covers I’ve seen from them in a while. Nice work.

 

So what does all this magazine mania mean, you may ask… Well, it means I will soon be bankrupt.

 

Leave a comment